Aller au contenu

IA pour le code

Sourcé24 sept. 2026

GitHub Copilot review 2026: the answer to the privacy question depends on the plan

GitHub Copilot's individual plans may use your code for training unless you opt out. Business and Enterprise data is not used. The gap decides the review.

Par la rédaction · Mis à jour le 24 sept. 2026

8.0

Note de la rédaction

Lire la grille

The strongest sourced free tier in this category, an entry price below the comparable editor, and a privacy answer that depends on which plan you buy. What you get for the money changed more than the price did.

Idéal pour
Developers who already work in GitHub and VS Code and want a coding assistant that installs into the setup they have, and teams whose procurement asks the training question before signing.
Déconseillé à
Buyers who need to know what a seat includes in dollars rather than in credits, or who want one privacy answer that does not depend on whether they are an individual or an organization.

Nous pouvons percevoir une commission si vous souscrivez via ce lien. Cela ne change jamais une note ni un classement. Lire la déclaration.

Aller sur GitHub Copilot

Ce qui fonctionne

  • The free tier is the only one in this comparison that answers with numbers: 2000 completions a month plus a monthly allowance of GitHub AI Credits, with chat billed in credits rather than in requests
  • Business and Enterprise plans state in the documentation that customer data is not used to train GitHub's AI models, protected under the Data Protection Agreement
  • The overage rate is published in plain terms: additional usage draws down a dollar-denominated budget at a fixed 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD
  • Cancellation is a soft exit: you keep access until the billing cycle ends and are automatically downgraded to Copilot Free, not cut off

Ce qu'il faut peser

  • Individual plans may use your interactions for AI model training from April 24, 2026, and the documentation does not state the default of the opt-out setting, so the honest reading is may use unless you opt out
  • The useful amount a seat includes is partly variable by design: the flex allotment is written to adapt as model economics change, which makes the predictable part of a paid month smaller than the headline total suggests
  • There is no Copilot-specific export path or deletion SLA documented, so leaving with your data is a request under the general privacy statement rather than a product flow

Ce que l'éditeur publie

Lu sur les pages de l'éditeur lui-même, aux dates listées au bas de cette page. Là où un chiffre n'est publié nulle part que nous ayons pu trouver, la ligne est absente plutôt que devinée.

Free plan entry price
Copilot Free, $0, no credit card required1
Free plan allowance
2000 completions per month plus a monthly allowance of GitHub AI Credits2
Individual entry price
$10/mo, Copilot Pro (1,500 total AI credits: 1,000 base + 500 flex)3
Middle individual plan
$39/mo, Copilot Pro+ (7,000 AI credits: 3,900 base + 3,100 flex)4
Highest individual plan
$100/mo, Copilot Max (20,000 AI credits: 10,000 base + 10,000 flex)5
Copilot Student
Free for verified students, unlimited completions, excludes third-party agents6
The billing unit
GitHub AI Credits, 1 credit = $0.01 USD7
Reset and rollover
Included credits do not carry over between months; the allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first of each calendar month8
Individual overage
Set a dollar budget; additional usage draws down at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 credits9
Paid-plan completions
Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits and remain unlimited on all paid plans10
Business plan, per granted seat
$19 USD per granted seat per month, 1,900 AI credits per user per month11
Enterprise plan, per granted seat
$39 USD per granted seat per month, 3,900 AI credits per user per month12
Organization credits pool
Included credits are pooled at the billing entity level, so an enterprise with 100 Business users gets one pool of 190,000 credits13
Organization overage
Additional usage is enabled by default; an admin can disable the AI credits paid usage policy or set budgets, and there is no automatic fallback to lower-cost models14
Training, individual plans
Starting April 24, 2026, GitHub may use Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max interactions for AI model training; you can opt out in Copilot settings15
Training, Business and Enterprise
GitHub does not use Business or Enterprise customer data to train AI models; the data is protected under the Data Protection Agreement16
Cancellation
You retain access until the billing cycle ends, then you are automatically downgraded to Copilot Free17

L'article ci-dessous est publié en anglais. Chaque chiffre qu'il contient est le chiffre publié par l'éditeur lui-même, avec la date à laquelle nous l'avons lu.

GitHub Copilot prices the entry plainly and answers the privacy question twice, differently, depending on whether you are an individual or an organization. That split is the most surprising fact in this category, and it is the one a buyer should settle before the price.

The privacy answer depends on which plan you buy

The strongest published fact in this review is not about completions or credits, it is about what GitHub does with your data. It is written in one documentation section with two halves. For individual Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max plans, GitHub states that starting April 24, 2026 it may use your interactions, including inputs, outputs, code snippets and associated context, to train and improve AI models, and that you can opt out in your personal Copilot settings. For Business and Enterprise plans, the same page states that GitHub does not use customer data to train its AI models, and that the data is protected under the Data Protection Agreement.

GitHub's Copilot policy settings document, captured 2026-09-24, stating that individual Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max interactions may be used for AI model training starting April 24, 2026 with an opt-out setting, and that Business and Enterprise customer data is not used to train AI models and is protected under the Data Protection Agreement.
Evidence · GitHub Docs, managing Copilot policies · Model training section: individual plans may train with opt-out, Business and Enterprise data is not used · Captured 24 sept. 2026

Neither half transfers to the other. The individual policy does not apply to an organization seat, and the organization policy does not protect an individual's data. The documentation does not state what the individual opt-out defaults to, so this review says may use unless you opt out, which is exactly what GitHub writes. A security review will want to know which of the two answers applies to the account under purchase.

The billing model changed more than the price did

The $10 entry price that has been associated with Copilot for years is still true: Copilot Pro is $10 a month as of the day we checked. What changed is the unit. Usage is now billed in GitHub AI Credits at 1 credit = $0.01 USD, chat and agents draw from a monthly allowance, and the old request-count mental model is gone. The current profile of this comparison still printed a 50 chat request figure alongside the completions; the billing documents and GitHub's own AI Credits FAQ have both moved to credits, so we have repaired the profile and the comparison in the same change as this review.

GitHub's individual Copilot billing document, captured 2026-09-24, listing the GitHub AI Credits allowance by plan for Pro, Pro+ and Max with base and flex columns, defining 1 credit as 0.01 US dollars, and stating that completions are not billed in credits and are unlimited on paid plans.
Evidence · GitHub Docs, individual Copilot billing · Individual billing document: the AI Credits allowance by plan, the dollar rate, and the no-rollover reset · Captured 24 sept. 2026

The allowance table in GitHub's docs is unusually explicit for this category. Pro includes 1,500 credits a month (1,000 base plus 500 flex), Pro+ includes 7,000 (3,900 plus 3,100), and Max includes 20,000 (10,000 plus 10,000). Copilot Free gets 2,000 completions a month plus an allowance of credits, and Copilot Student, free for verified students, gets unlimited completions. One cell carries a caveat the review is not allowed to trim: the flex allotment is a variable part of the included usage, written to adapt as model economics change. So the headline total is a floor plus a flexible top, and the predictable part of a paid month is the base number, not the total.

The free tier is the only countable one in this category

The comparison this review sits beside turns on this row. Cursor's Hobby card says Limited Agent requests with no digit beside it. GitHub prints 2000 completions per month for Copilot Free and names the allowance unit. Two other boundaries on the plans page matter for the buying decision: the cloud agent is gated at Pro, so Free is the only individual plan without it, and third-party coding agents such as Claude Code and Codex start at Pro. Copilot Student is the plan that reads oddly: it is free, it excludes third-party agents, and it has the cloud agent.

What an organization seat actually buys

Business is $19 per granted seat per month for 1,900 credits per user, Enterprise is $39 per granted seat for 3,900. The word granted matters: it is per seat an account is assigned, not per developer who happens to use the tool. Included credits pool at the billing entity level, so an enterprise of 100 Business users gets one shared pool of 190,000 credits rather than 100 individual buckets. When the pool runs out, additional usage is enabled by default on organization plans, an admin must explicitly disable the paid usage policy to stop it, and there is no automatic fallback to lower-cost models. That is the opposite default from the individual side, where additional usage has to be deliberately enabled with a dollar budget.

GitHub's plans document, captured 2026-09-24, listing the Copilot Free, Student, Pro, Pro+, Max, Business and Enterprise rows with their monthly prices, AI credit totals, model access and agent columns.
Evidence · GitHub Docs, plans for GitHub Copilot · Plans overview: the five individual and two organization tiers with prices, credit totals and model access · Captured 24 sept. 2026

The exit is a downgrade, not a cutoff

Cancellation keeps your features to the end of the billing cycle and then drops you to Copilot Free rather than cutting access. That is a softer exit than an editor migration, and it is one reason an organization can pilot Copilot with less commitment risk than a tool that asks the whole team to switch. The honest caveats are on the data side: GitHub documents a general right to request deletion under its privacy statement, but there is no Copilot-specific export workflow or deletion SLA. Leaving with your prompts and your history is a request under a policy, not a download button.

What the score rests on

The five components and their weights are published on our methodology page.

Fit for the stated job, 30 percent. A coding assistant that installs into the editor and the platform a team already runs, with a free tier and no credit card. Held back only by the cloud agent being Pro-gated.

Cost to get started, 25 percent. A real free tier, an entry price of $10 below the compared editor's $20, and an overage rate published in plain terms. The variable flex allotment keeps the predictable part of a paid month below the headline.

What the vendor commits to, 20 percent. The strongest privacy document in the category: Business and Enterprise data not used for training, protected under the Data Protection Agreement, with the individual opt-out named.

Portability, 15 percent. A soft exit to the free plan, no editor migration. No Copilot-specific export or deletion flow documented.

Documentation quality, 10 percent. The billing and policy pages answer the follow-up questions in writing, dated, with the flex allowance and the reset rule named.

Weighted at those weights the total comes to 8.0.

What we could not settle

There is no score for output quality, because we did not measure it and no independent coding-agent benchmark we would rank on is in this review's sources. There is also no figure for the default of the individual training opt-out, because GitHub's documentation states that you can opt out and does not state what the setting starts as. The 50 chat request figure is not published here, because the billing documents and GitHub's own AI Credits FAQ have both moved to credits, and we do not quote a number the vendor contradicts on its own page.

If you are comparing editors, the GitHub Copilot tool profile carries the same figures, and the comparison with Cursor reads the two free tiers side by side. AI coding is the category hub.

Questions

No. The current billing documents describe Copilot Free as 2000 completions per month plus a monthly allowance of GitHub AI Credits, and chat is billed in credits like every other AI feature. The 50 chat request figure still survives in one marketing FAQ answer, published in the same batch that added the AI Credits FAQ two entries later, which contradicts it. We treat the billing documents and the AI Credits FAQ as the authorities and do not publish the 50-chat figure as a live allowance.

D'où viennent ces chiffres

Chaque chiffre ci-dessus est le chiffre publié par l'éditeur lui-même. Chaque ligne nomme le document qui a été lu et le jour où une personne l'a ouvert.

Registre des sources : chaque affirmation de cette page avec son document et sa date de vérification
#AffirmationValeurSourceVérifié le
1Free plan entry priceCopilot Free, $0, no credit card requiredGitHub Docs, plans for GitHub Copilot, Free card24 sept. 2026
2Free plan allowance2000 completions per month plus a monthly allowance of GitHub AI CreditsGitHub Docs, plans for GitHub Copilot, Free column24 sept. 2026
3Individual entry price$10/mo, Copilot Pro (1,500 total AI credits: 1,000 base + 500 flex)GitHub Docs, individual billing, allowance by plan table24 sept. 2026
4Middle individual plan$39/mo, Copilot Pro+ (7,000 AI credits: 3,900 base + 3,100 flex)GitHub Docs, individual billing, allowance by plan table24 sept. 2026
5Highest individual plan$100/mo, Copilot Max (20,000 AI credits: 10,000 base + 10,000 flex)GitHub Docs, individual billing, allowance by plan table24 sept. 2026
6Copilot StudentFree for verified students, unlimited completions, excludes third-party agentsGitHub Docs, plans for GitHub Copilot, Student column24 sept. 2026
7The billing unitGitHub AI Credits, 1 credit = $0.01 USDGitHub Docs, individual billing, how credits are calculated24 sept. 2026
8Reset and rolloverIncluded credits do not carry over between months; the allowance resets at 00:00:00 UTC on the first of each calendar monthGitHub Docs, individual billing, what happens at the reset24 sept. 2026
9Individual overageSet a dollar budget; additional usage draws down at 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD, so a $10 budget covers 1,000 creditsGitHub Docs, individual billing, additional usage24 sept. 2026
10Paid-plan completionsCode completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits and remain unlimited on all paid plansGitHub Docs, individual billing, what is billed in credits24 sept. 2026
11Business plan, per granted seat$19 USD per granted seat per month, 1,900 AI credits per user per monthGitHub Docs, plans for GitHub Copilot, Business row24 sept. 2026
12Enterprise plan, per granted seat$39 USD per granted seat per month, 3,900 AI credits per user per monthGitHub Docs, plans for GitHub Copilot, Enterprise row24 sept. 2026
13Organization credits poolIncluded credits are pooled at the billing entity level, so an enterprise with 100 Business users gets one pool of 190,000 creditsGitHub Docs, organization billing, pooled credits24 sept. 2026
14Organization overageAdditional usage is enabled by default; an admin can disable the AI credits paid usage policy or set budgets, and there is no automatic fallback to lower-cost modelsGitHub Docs, organization billing, additional usage24 sept. 2026
15Training, individual plansStarting April 24, 2026, GitHub may use Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max interactions for AI model training; you can opt out in Copilot settingsGitHub Docs, managing Copilot policies, model training and improvements24 sept. 2026
16Training, Business and EnterpriseGitHub does not use Business or Enterprise customer data to train AI models; the data is protected under the Data Protection AgreementGitHub Docs, managing Copilot policies, model training and improvements24 sept. 2026
17CancellationYou retain access until the billing cycle ends, then you are automatically downgraded to Copilot FreeGitHub Docs, viewing and changing your Copilot plan, cancellation24 sept. 2026